No children and 5+ years ago…

Dan and I addressed the idea of adoption.  I don’t really remember the conversation, but I remember having a strong desire to adopt. 

It was only 2 months of “marital bliss” before there were 2 lines on a stick

It was very likely that shortly after that conversation I got pregnant with Alexander.

One month after Alexander’s 1st birthday—November 4th 2006 we found out we were going to have David.

We THOUGHT  we were done with children—though deep down I wanted more.  Sometime in August 2008 we found out we were going to have Gage!

Exactly where in that timeline did we have a chance to discuss adoption?

Never.

So we didn’t.

I had my tubes tied with Gage.  I was sooo done being pregnant.  I said I was done with the “baby thing”.  I don’t ever recall saying I was completely finished adding to our family.  Scratch that…I don’t ever recall God saying HE was finished adding to our family.

I had coffee with my BFF Billie the night before Thanksgiving 2009.  On the drive home, “adoption” crossed my mind.  I didn’t even question the origin, it had to be God speaking to me.  No one in their right frame of mind would think up on their own…”Hey I have a 4 year old, 2 year old, and a 9 month old…I think we should adopt!”

I went home that night, stayed up a little late and researched all I could about adoption.  I was sooo excited, but Dan was sleeping so I figured we’d discuss it in the morning.

Our converstation went a little like this:

“this is why I stayed up late last night…this is what’s on my mind.”  [adoption]  I showed him a website.

Dan:  “I’m not surprised.”

Me:  “What’s that mean?”

Dan:  “We’ve talked about it before, let’s do it.”

If you know my husband at all  he doesn’t “just do” anything.  God was working in him too!

I happily made Thanksgiving dinner, and kept the laptop up and continued researching.  We spent the day praying scriptures:  Matthew 18:19  “Again I say to you that if two of you agree on earth concerning anything that they ask, it will be done for them by My Father in heaven.”  (NKJV)  We actually agreed on something!

I will not begin to bore you with researching adoption agencies…I didn’t see that adventure coming at all!  It took over a month of constant research to finally decide on about a child.  (www.aboutachild.org)

Leave a Reply

