My Heart…

 

This orphan conference is a wonderful wonderful place to be.  No doubt about it.  I am so incredibly thankful God has brought me here.  I have met amazing people. 

Walking around at all the booths and speaking to people, attending sessions…you get to see orphan ministry farther out than just adoption.  It’s overwhelming really.  I sat next to a young lady from Colorado tonight and we were talking about how great God is with hearts.  How we don’t have to feel the entire burden of every single issue pertaining to orphans:  clothing, food, medication, beds, love, education, finding Christ!!!, politics, there is just sooo much!!

My heart has been burdened (obviously) towards adoption.  Mission work as well…I just don’t know how/where/when or any of the details.  God will work with me on that.  (well the where is Ukraine).  For a while, I would look at the children from Africa and feel bad that I didn’t want to do anything for them.  (well I did…we all do in some form or another…but you know what I mean).  Again, God spoke to my heart by showing me everyone sitting in the auditorium tonight didn’t have a heart for missions/adoption like I did.  Someone in there has the heart for Africa’s orphans.  Someone in there has the heart for feeding, medicine, politics…God is working!!  It eased my burden and brought me back to center.  My center is praying and asking God how he wants to use me. 

I attended Beginning an Orphan Ministry in Your Church 101 this morning…it was my first meeting.  The speaker was brilliant and I got some incredible notes and bought his book.  I’m definitely the “dreamer” and not the “spreadsheet guy”.  And that’s okay…because God will bring me a spreadsheet guy…and he’ll bring me everyone else necessary to start an orphan ministry (of some sort…though I think I have the initial vision).  I have also been shown how incredibly important it is to know that we have a patient God.  He knows no time.  I do not need to rush a single thing, and God will put everything down as it needs to be.  As for me…right now…I am going to remain in prayer over this until God tells me what to do next.  Praise God for that…the burden is even less now…WHEW!!

I got to meet some amazing people.  Unfortunately, the coolest news of the day I cannot post…YET.  It’s not my news to tell…so…moving on.

I will post some pics!!

The first is Carolyn Tweitmeyer from www.projecthopeful.org  I felt like I was in the presence of a celebrity…she truly is amazing giving voice to the orphans with HIV.  Aiding to help stop the stigma so many people are afraid of because of lack of knowledge.  She and her team are empowering people to give son’s and daughter’s of God forever families. 

Now we were ready for a decent pic!!  (Joy and I at the Eastern Europe's Orphan Prayer time)

Joy (from RR!!!)  and I. 

We were too busy laughing in this one…

Joy from (RR!!) and I. I found her in the restroom thanks to our matching RR shirts! We were later able to meet up at the prayer time for Eastern Europe's orphans...clearly we were not ready for the pic. We were too busy laughing

I really just love being here!!

Q&A with Steven Curtis and Mary Beth Chapman

More Q&A. They really have beautiful hearts for the orphans

Steven sang for all of us. Feeling the presence of the Lord like we all did--touched in so many different ways.

I”m sorry the pic quality isn’t that great.  I don’t know what’s with this camera.  Maybe I’ll get some time to check it out tomorrow…I’m really not concerned.  I’m just glad I got to document it in some way!!  I’m hitting the sack for tonight…another long day tomorrow.  This summit is incredibly intense!  It will take a long time to finally digest all we have been fed.  At least I’ll be plenty occupied for the flights home 😉  So excited for what tomorrow will bring.

Leave a Reply

