Day 1-Our Arrival

Our arrival.

First off, I’ve decided I’m going to keep a running tally on the right side of the blog somewhere to keep track of all our expenses.

So far we’ve spent :

$20 on lunch at Dulles Airport…ouch, but it was good. (Five Guys)

$10 on 2 drinks at the frankfurt airport….big ouch because my coke was terrible!!

We paid Nico 250 Grivna (8 grivna to $1…actually it’s 7.95, but 8 it is!)

Our apartment in Kiev is $60 per night and we’ll be here for 4 nights.

Nico picked us up at the airport, had our name and was waiting so we could see him as soon as we entered through the doors. What a relief!!

In the car, Nico gave us a cell phone. It has the contacts of he and Yulia. Nico was helpful and reassured us if we needed anything to call us. We don’t think we’ll need to purchase any time for the phone, all contact between our team and us is free and we are skyping with our kids. I’m happy we’ll not be spending any money on those expenses.

Nico also stated that we’d not leave for Mayah’s region until 5 or 6 am Wednesday morning because it’s relatively close…he said he may drive us, maybe someone else, or quite possibly take a train. I would have loved to have left Tuesday night, but we understand. We’re just excited to get to meet her.

Nico took us to the store which is very near to our apartment, we were able to purchase some groceries (he’s so awesome he even carried the hand cart for us!) We were able to exchange money there. Nico says we can exchange money just about anywhere around here so no worries about that!

In the grocery store, Dan says he thinks he spent about $229 grivna. We got milk, cereal, 2 chocolate bars, a big thing of water, bread, ham and cheese (Nico picked awesome cheese!) and jam…im not sure what else.

I forgot batteries so I will need to buy some, I’m not too happy about that one. I’ll pick some up tomorrow.

Dan and I got back to the apartment, and Nico showed us everything we needed to know. When he left we skyped with the kids, took showers and hopped into bed for a few hours. It’s about 10:41 pm local time. Now we’re in bed watching a movie because the DVD player in the apartment doesn’t seem to be working. Glad we brought a portable one.

God bless the person who invented skype. Really. I’m not sure I’d be able to make it without getting to see and speak to my boys. I miss them like crazy.

I took some pictures of our apartment on my phone, Dan is going to have to pull the memory card and I’ll upload them later. Probably tomorrow morning.

As for tomorrow, we have nothing planned. Not sure if we’ll be rested or boredom will sink in first! haha

I imagine we’ll venture out and walk around tomorrow. I’m also glad we have internet so we can attend church via “lifechurch.tv” .

I’m exhausted and I’d like to relax some more…wonder how long it will take to adjust to local time?

We can’t wait for Monday to see if we’ll be able to do a blind referral as well. At least we’ll have a little more details by then.

Good night, dear friends! Thank you for your support.

6 responses »

  1. You made it!! I am so glad. It took my body forever to adjust to the time change–I felt like I could sleep forever–just NOT at the right part of the day πŸ™‚
    Definitely DO walk around the city–it is wonderful.
    Joy

  2. Thanks so much for the running talley! It will help us next week! I can’t wait!!! Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your adventure!

  3. So glad to hear from you! Been praying for you and wondering how it’s going. I keep thinking, “Oh it’s whatever o’clock here so tammy and dan must be REALLY tired!” lol Don’t worry about the DVD; you’ve got lots of great books to read. πŸ˜‰ (unless you read them all on the plane!) Love you and praying for you!!

  4. Get out and walk Tammy!!! Kiev is a beautiful city, and if you get lost, you can call Niko and he’ll get you back on track (trust me, I know this! hehe)!! Don’t be afraid to call for help, they are AWESOME!!! Tell them we said “Hi!” John will be back in Kiev on Thursday to head out on Friday. πŸ™‚ HAVE FUN!!!!

  5. I’m make a blind guess that you are in our old apartment. When you post pictures I will know for sure. I should win a prize if I am right. The DVD player that doesn’t work – the market that has money exchange in it etc. We’ll see… Its an adventure – ENJOY!! Praying for you guys… Hoping for good news tomorrow!

  6. We are currently in Kharkiv, Ukraine adopting our boy Jackson. Your blog made us smile, as Niko was our driver while we were in Kiev πŸ™‚ He’s a pretty nice guy and will take good care of you! Tell him The Howell’s said hi! If you guys need anything, let us know!

    -Scott & Lindsey Howell

Leave a Reply

