What Do We Do in the Meantime?

Meantime.  What is that anyway?  When is it?  In the meantime…

What do we do with the meantime

If you know me, you know I’m always up for the next big adventure.  It explains why 3 months after Dan and I got married, I was pregnant.  21 months after our first son was born our second son was born, 20 months after our second son was born our third son was born, 21 months after our third son was born our first adopted daughter came home….so…I suppose we have another 20.5 months or so before the next child enters our family?

Don’t be surprised.

However, in the meantime what do we do?  What do YOU do?

Raising a family of any size takes time, resources, and prayer.  Are we all always looking for the next big thing?

I’m learning, ever so slowly, how our home is my mission field.  Having that bit of knowledge is incredibly helpful with teaching me to be happy with what we have exactly where we are in our journey with the Lord.

It’s an adventure some days in this house just making sure we know where everyone’s boots, hats, coats, scarves, and gloves are! 

I loathe disorganization.  I had a terrible attitude today [now yesterday] about something.  No idea what, apparently I got up on the wrong side of bed.  My husband called on his way home, asked if I needed anything:  “An attitude adjustment” I replied.  I prayed for myself, he prayed for me too.  By the time he got home I had a different attitude.  And a new structure for hats, gloves, coats and bootsWinking smile

God is reminding me daily to continue to strive towards being a proverbs 31 woman.  You know the one, she who does it all:  cooking, cleaning, sewing, her husband is awesome, kids adore her, people love her everywhere….that’s a LOT!

I figure I screw that up constantly and the Bible says his grace is new everyday…

that’s surely enough to keep me busy in the meantime.

2 responses »

  1. For what it’s worth, I think you are an absolutely amazing woman! There’s days when I’m still dragging around in my pajamas wishing I could go back to bed, and then I get on facebook and see that you’ve already cleaned half the house and did the grocery shopping, lol. Seriously, once we move and get settled in TN and I start my new job as a stay at home mom, I’d be thrilled to be half the wife and mom that you are. Good luck on your journey, I’ll be praying for you and your family!

  2. I love it, Tammy. I can so relate–to wanting adventure, to wanting some degree of order in my house (be it ever so slight), to often needing an attitude adjustment, to needing to remember the mission field in front of my face. Thanks.
    Joy

Leave a Reply

