A Little of This…a Little of That

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve.  I’m totally looking forward to letting the kids run rampant  and stay up later than usual.

We are beginning the celebration by Dan only working a half day.  The last day of the year for him to use his last half day.  Perfect timing.  He has Monday off too.  It would be much more exciting if the kids had off on Monday too.  I’m totally not looking forward to David and Alexander returning to life as usual.

This morning Mayah went back to her room, picked out her clothes, laid them out, and made her bed without being asked!  The boys need to be reminded constantly to make their beds. 

I was able to get quite a few of my high cluttered areas cleaned between yesterday and today.  Currently, the kids and I are watching a Barbie Fairytopia movie.  Interesting break to our mid-day activities. 

Mayah’s syllables are changing a little bit.  She has always babbled in some form or another, but now the syllables are shorter.  Maybe she’s thinking she’s forming words?  I’m putting it under the making progress category anyway.

We are praying 2011 is going to be a big year spiritually in our household.  God is always there waiting for us, so we know it’s up to us to react and respond.

After for some unknown reason, Dan and I had a prayer hiatus.  We are back to praying together in the mornings before he leaves for work.  Such a better way to start our day.

With the new 40 day project approaching, the family is sitting together opening the “floor” up to current prayer concerns.  Alexander prays for a domestic orphan he wants to be in our family (I just answer, “keep telling God, honey”).

Each time I get an empty box for something or other, I fill it with the abundance of clothing my boys have.  Short sleeved clothing I label for the DR and wintery stuff I label for Mayah’s former orphanage.  This evening I topped a Berdichev box with a few toys.  I’m not sure when we’ll be able to send off the boxes, but they are being organized nicely in the basement.

I’m totally loving LOVING this current book I’m reading by E Faith Stewart Living Faith.  It was written in the 1950’s (maybe?) and it’s awesome.  Completely awesome.  Dave Rearick from church loaned it to me before Dan and I left for Ukraine, like the other books I looked forward to reading on my trip it was forgotten.  I am waiting for the day when I can get my own copy.  There are so many books I’m waiting to read, buying one I’ve already read doesn’t make sense right now.  

I know this is a season of waiting and learning for our family.  Each day is exciting, and I’m working on concentrating on what God has given us right in front of us instead of daydreaming of the “what ifs” in our future. 

This post is a bit all over the place, I’ve been typing a sentence here and there all day.  In fact, that particular sentence took me a few hours to get out!!

Tomorrow we are joining some friends at Shannon Creek Baptist Church for a New Year’s Eve get together.  We always enjoy get- togethers with them.  It starts at 8 and we are planning on hopefully making it two hours.  Then to come home and put any tired children (Gage!) to bed and enjoy the co ompany of the others, playing basketball in the basement, watching a movie or something and just enjoying being all together.

I look forward to our first family missions trip to the DR this summer.  My prayer remains that we can actually go in the first place.  We have so much to get done around our house this coming year, finances (as always) will play a large role.  I need to begin praying for God’s will to be made known.  I don’t want to get my heart set on going if it’s not His will for us. 

Gage is in bed, Dan is falling asleep on the couch and I need to get the other 3 in to brush teeth, pray and hit the sack!!

Thank you for your prayers everyone.  Have a safe new year!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

