Living Radically

Oh man oh man.  I’m finally reading the book Radical by David Platt on my kindle for pc.  I am incredibly thankful David Platt has put my brain onto paper.  I read it and it’s a continual, “yes, yes yes exactly what I want to do!”  And yet I sit here in my rocking chair using my new turtle pillow pet (Mr. Africa) as my table on my laptop asking God exactly how do you intend to use me? 

After all, I still am a stay-at-home-mom of 4 young children and a husband who works a lot.  Some days I force myself to be happy with the mission field God has given me.  Right here in my own living room.  That’s the problem though.  I shouldn’t have to force myself to be happy with it.  There’s so much more to life.  I’m not saying to forget my kids and run off to a far away land and never return.  I want to train my children to want to not be afraid to run off to a far away land and never return.  Complete and radical abandonment of the American Dream and live the way Christ has commanded us.  To GO OUT and make disciples of ALL NATIONS.  It’s biblical people. 

My friend JVF posted a message from International House of Prayer for the New Year’s Eve convention held in Kansas City this past year.  There were 2 parts.  It was titled On the Judgment Seat of Christ.  Sounds rather condemning.  Sitting at the judgment seat of the throne of the only person who walked this earth who was undeserving of his fate.  And yet for our sakes (ALL OF US!) he willingly lived and died the life God planned for him.  Sometimes I don’t even willingly go to the store.  In any case, the message began with the pastor telling of a dream he had where he met Jesus and Jesus’ response to this man’s life was a little something like this:  “You’re saved, but you wasted your life.” What?  Wasted his life?  he was a pastor for Pete’s sake!  But really, think about it.  God didn’t create you or me to life a comfortable life in a nice big house, shiny car (complete with car payment!) and vacation to all the best spots in the most expensive hotels.  Living any part of that life (minus car payment) has no flaws in my opinion.  It just shouldn’t be the goal of why you go to work, or why you do the things you do.  I want my love for Jesus (and my family’s love for Jesus) to so shine that people want to be like us.  Not our house, car, or personal family vision…but like us in the sense we love God with reckless abandonment.  That, I promise you, is the most expensive thing you will ever have.  Family will turn their backs on you.  People will think you’re strange because you’re not doing what the world does.  But eventually after your perseverance for choosing God and HIS desires for the life HE gave you will rub off and the people who thought you were crazy want the same craziness.  To be so crazy in love with the Lord they will turn their backs on things of this world to GO OUT and make disciples of ALL NATIONS. 

**I’d love to share the link of the messages with you, but I can’t find them.  They are on my mp3 player, maybe JVF will read this and remind me.**

I have no idea where our family’s current vision is headed.  Dan and I have so much to think and pray about.  I still have to finish this book and Dan still needs to read it.  It’s inspiring and heart opening. 

All I know right now, for me, is I’m still in my period of waiting.  It’s incredibly hard when the plight of orphans is weighing my heart so heavily and currently I feel I can do nothing but pray.

Prayer my friends is a powerful powerful thing.  Our God is a God who answers prayers and performs miracles. 

3 responses »

  1. It’s a great book, isn’t it! I actually haven’t finished it yet. I think it must have been hitting a little too close to home, if you know what I mean. But it’s right here beside me on the computer.
    Joy

  2. One of the families I have met since beginning our adoption journey goes to his church…she invited us to come visit! It’s about an hour 1/2 from where live. I read the book last Fall and thought it should be all we gave people for Christmas gifts. Convicting. Stirring. Eyes wide open to the truth is a good way to be 🙂

Leave a Reply

