New Year’s Resolution

It’s that time again.  A time where people are ready to start fresh, make some changes, and hopefully stick to them.

The majority of people do not stick to their resolutions.  I’m not much of a resolution maker myself.  Not for any other reason except Jesus died  to give us a fresh start every day.  With every new morning.  It’s coincidence I’m working on creating a new habit at the same time as everyone else. 

It’s nothing fancy.  I’m going to work on having all gifts I give in 2012 be handmade.

The challenge?

I’m not crafty.  Like at all.

So yesterday I bought crochet needles and two things of yarn.  I checked out a youtube video on how to start-then it all came back to me.  Like a nightmare-or a dream-I can’t tell. 

 

If you knew my Mother, you knew she was born with the ability to practically make anything.  She sewed, crocheted, quilted-whatever. 

I did not get that gene. It skipped right over me. 

However, the memories of having my mother try to teach me stuck in my brain somewhere-hidden for more than 20 years. 

So now I’ve asked my husband for a sewing machine for Christmas-and I’m going to learn.

Yesterday I practiced the single stitch crochet over and over again.  I made 4 finger warmers for a baby!

170

You can see from bottom to top that each time I improved.  I’m starting to figure it out.

Also, a special thanks to Pinterest  for allowing so many creative people share their talents so I can look good. 

I’m also not planning on waiting until the new year-I’ve already started.  Teachers presents, gifts for my friends and family…I’m pretty excited.  I just hope it sticks and it’s not a whim. 

Happy crafting!

2 responses »

  1. Oh oh oh, if you want to take a learn to craft vacation in AZ, come on down!! 😀 Sewing is so easy, as long as you have a decent machine! I will warn you, the first machine my hubby bought me was an inexpensive new machine and I almost gave up on sewing because of it! If you have a smallish budget, you’d be better off trying to buy a used older model (i.e. a good old solid machine) than a newer, inexpensive model. 🙂 I’m going to send you some pics of bookmarks we did for teachers and therapists, it was so easy and cute! Love you!

Leave a Reply

